Posted by: herrootsrundeep | February 19, 2014

where the people are as beautiful as the land

 

GMy Ecuadorean Caballero! For weeks before we went to Ecuador, I had been praying that the type of horse I would be riding would be a Paso Fino–and, of course when I asked the Cowboy in Vilcabamba, if we would be be riding Paso Finks, he said, “Si! Suave!”. I was smitten, riding these suave, “smooth”, fine-gaited horses is pure joy! Even listening to their footsteps on the cobblestone streets is music to my ears. When we rode Paso Finos in Puerto Rico, the caballero had us practice on wooden riding rink just to hear the fine-gaitedness.  Anyway, riding in Ecuador is pure joy, especially in the mountains around Vilcabamba, “the Sacred Valley”. So, essentially, I am riding in a sacred valley, up sacred mountains on my sacred horse. My cowboy guide was also good as it gets. He told me history of the valley and who owned those cows, and stopped to introduce me to the lady washing her clothes in the canal, and introduced me to cowboys coming down the mountain. That was a good thing because my Paso Fino would not cross thethe raging river, so the second cowboy took my reins and led us across the river, with a lot of coaxing, O’course :))))). We actually had to cross that particular river because the bridge was out, so you can just picture how “big and wide” it was! The next two rivers we crossed were small and ankle-deep with no fuss from my fancy little fine-gaited friend. Oh, I do love her!  Anyway, my Caballero started to regale me with stories of which houses were built by rich Americans who came down to this beautiful sacred valley and then left because it was too remote! I mean, they could obviously “see” how remote it is! No wonder the world despises Americans! Most of the houses on the mountain outside Vilcabamba were empty and abandoned, because of course they were for sale for millions. He even showed me one with an elevator, and of course that was abandoned. We then rode for hours in quiet meditation because the landscape was mesmerizing qr and of course, sacred. The first time he broke the silence was to point out the Huilco tree, which is what this sacred valley was originally named after, by the Peruvians. Because, of course the Peruvians could get some sort of drug out of the leaves. “Peruvians can get drugs out of anything”, said the Caballero, “whereas Ecuadorians can find food in everything. That is why there is no hunger in Ecuador, none.”.

IMG_20140213_120136

Responses

  1. Excellent post! I was there with you in spirit, basking in the silence and beauty; i could feel your heart smiling!

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

